I saw the Mystical Landscapes exhibition at the AGO

The special exhibition was everything people yearned for and why it was so crowded- people want religious experience. I especially enjoyed The Sun by Munch and a moonlighted piece by a Scandinavian artist who influenced the northern style of the group of seven. Still what grabbed me the most were Bancroft scenes by Milne and, even more keenly, the Kurelek rooms in the Thomson collection. I returned the next day for a second look at those artists and was also spellbound by the intricate miniature Christian boxwood and beechwood carvings. I actually bled looking at my favourite piece, Railway to Minnesota, and had to rush to the bathroom with my toque under my nose. So, perhaps that’s the effect of his mystical landscapes inside his own custom built mystical frames. There was something so evocative about the boy in the bright green coat and book walking along the edge of the forest in the opposite direction of the railway car. 

Leave a Reply

