I’d like to talk about a photograph my aunt and uncle acquired for me


I mentioned that I was really fond of this one- it’s the cycle of life, the wonder of biodiversity. I also like how vibrant the green is because it’s a metal print. When I lead students on hikes, I always get questions about moss. Kids are just drawn to it. 

I gather that before there were trees with roots there was moss. The earliest land plants were mosses. These beautiful trees grow and spread seeds and then return to the earth embraced by moss. I like that returning part. I also gather that moss takes in water vapour- water on the way up- now that’s beautiful. 

Leave a Reply

