I’d like to talk to an economist because I’m confused and a little frustrated – I don’t know how an economy works

I don’t understand corporate governance- why don’t shareholders have more power? It seems to me that executives and insiders get lavish pay no matter the performance of the company under their watch. If executives were only paid by performance and shareholder satisfaction, I think that would go a long way in solving unfair hiring practices and perhaps have a wider ripple effect of justice and production. I’d say that’s the key to corporate reform. So, basically, I need an economist to tell me why that’s impossible. 

I would also like to ask an economist what personal finances would look like if all the energy and brain power now deployed to hoard and hide money was put to good use making things people want and need, benefits that should grow the economy as a whole (that is, if I understand economics at all). 

Leave a Reply

