I couldn’t disagree more with part of the globe editorial on the Tragically Hip

According to the globe, the Hip’s music isn’t earnest, folkie, or patriotic- that’s right, to the board of the globe, the music expresses irony, snobbery, and a hatred for Canada. I suppose they have the worst sense of those words in mind. I just prefer to use words with their best sense in mind, though, so I think that their music is exactly earnest, folkie, and patriotic – because it expresses love, not detachment, and love of country and the folks in it!

I was struck by Gord’s showmanship the first time I saw them at bluesfest in Ottawa (I knew he is a great poet- watch his performance of ‘At the Quinte Hotel- and a great musician) but the way he moved and his energy was spectacular.

Leave a Reply

