The importance of really good quality local news

The surprisingly telling thing I found in Spotlight, the movie with my favourite actress Rachel McAdams, was that local papers wrote articles sounding the alarm on child abuse but it never resonated wide enough to change anything. When I’ve read pieces from the archives of my local paper, the Belleville Intelligencer, I’ve been astounded by the strength and eloquence of the writing, and more than that I’ve been told that most people actually read it and cared about it back then. I think that’s what we need to restore the value of community or at least to start.

Leave a Reply

